Make Your Own Vanilla

Happy 4th of July America and wonderful happy Wednesday morning to all fellow bloggers and friends ūüėÄ Hope everyone has had a lovely week thus far! I recently discovered how to make my own vanilla extract and I could not be more excited to share this step by step! Seriously, who doesn’t love vanilla?! I have used it in cookies, cupcakes, waffles…and countless more recipes(not to mention it will make a perfect addition to my 4th of July sweet treats!). It is super easy to make and I highly encourage you to make your own! Plus, anytime you run low just add more vodka or rum, shake it up, and you instantly have more delicious vanilla.

Cost: $10.00

Materials:

  • Vanilla beans – 2 -4 whole beans (depending on how impatient you are ;-))
  • Vodka or white rum- 1 cup
  • Glass jar with tight fitting lid
  • Sugar – 1 cup; optional
  • Water – 1 cup; optional

Cut the center of your vanilla beans in half length wise exposing the inside but leaving the ends still attached. The more beans you add, the faster it will turn into vanilla extract.

Put cut vanilla beans in glass bottle and cover completely with vodka or rum.

Wait, wait, and wait some more! Store in a dark cool place for several months, the longer the better…I can only last about 2 months before I give in and start using mine. Don’t forget to give it a shake from time to time.

If you want to give your vanilla extract a sweeter kick, add simple sugar syrup! Combine 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water in saucepan and bring to a boil. Continue to stir until sugar has dissolved. Allow to cool and use! Make sure you don’t add too much…it’s always easy to add more sugar syrup to your extract, but it’s not so easy to take it away. Store¬†remaining¬†syrup…they make great additions to mixed drinks or sweet tea ūüėČ

Home  I  About  I  Contact  I  DIY Ideas  I  Foodstuff

Enhanced by Zemanta
Let us know what you think!

