Glitter Key

The other day on pinterest (love that site) I found this tutorial on how to update the look of your keys by adding glitter. All but one of my keys is themed, so naturally I pulled out the glitter and glammed up that lonely boring key!

Cost:  $2.00

**I only needed to purchase the Elmer’s glue and glitter.

Materials:

  • Elmer’s glue
  • Glitter of choice
  • Plain key
  • Clear nail polish

Apply an even coat of Elmer’s glue to the top of your key.

Sprinkle glitter over key until all the glue is completely covered. Let dry, and repeat on the other side.

Once both sides are dry, top with clear nail polish to seal in glitter (see tips below). Not only will this keep the glitter in place but it will also make your glitter extra shiny.


TIPS:

*Personally, I added an extra top coat of the clear nail polish to ensure the glitter was not coming off. I would definitely recommend adding two or three coats of clear nail polish.

Home  I  About  I  Contact  I  DIY Ideas  I  Foodstuff

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 responses to “Glitter Key

  1. Pingback: TreaSure TueSday! 100 DIY Glitter ideas with lots of shiny links! part 1·

    • I did! Essie’s are super adorable, but I opted for the glue + glitter combo because I felt like it allowed for more versatility. That and most of my glitter nail polish has a clear base which would require a ton of coats to make enough of a sparkle 😉

  2. Pingback: Glitter Shoes… and More | The Key of Kels·

Let us know what you think!

